Gov. Christie Signs New Jersey Anti-BDS Measure Into Law

TRENTON, New Jersey – The State of New Jersey on Tuesday became the tenth state in the nation to implement a law that opposes the Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) movement against the state of Israel.

Flanked by local Jewish community leaders, Governor Chris Christie signed into law a bipartisan measure that prohibits the state from investing in pension and annuity funds that boycott Israel or Israeli businesses.

“Let folks in Israel understand that there still are people in the United States – and people of both parties in this state – who understand that unequivocal, unashamed, unapologetic support of Israel is a policy of the state of New Jersey,” Christie said at a signing ceremony in Trenton, NJ on Tuesday. “And it should be the policy of the United State of America, and hopefully will be in the years going forward.”

“I am happy to add my voice and my signature to this law. It’s with American and Israeli leadership together [that] the world can be a safer place, in every respect,” he added.

Anti-BDS laws have already been enacted in nine states – Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, and South Carolina. And in June, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo signed an executive order that orders state agencies to divest themselves of companies and organizations who support the BDS movement.

Subscribe now to
the Daily Kickoff

The politics and business news you need to stay up to date, delivered each morning in a must-read newsletter.